top of page

Problem-focused vs. Solution-focused

I think I constantly focus more on my alcoholism than on my sobriety. It's easy to talk about me being a drunk and how I feel when I'm drunk and what happens when I'm drunk than it is to talk about those things when I'm sober. Sometimes I think that my life is on pause when I'm not drinking and that I'm only alive and moving when I'm drunk. That's me focusing on my problem rather than my solution. As a lover SFT, I have missed the whole purpose of the process in that the goal is always moving forward and changing and, instead, I'm staying still in this life because I'm constantly at battle with myself as to whether or not I even want to move forward. Do I want to be sober? Not always, no. Do I need to be sober? Absolutely. And honestly, either way my life will change. I'll either get sober and stay sober and things will start to be stable in my life. I'll be able to work on my anxiety, depression, eating, relationships, and overall health. If I keep drinking, I'll keep going down hill and losing things that are important to and I'll probably eventually die. So then there is a decision that I have to make... do I want to focus on my problem or my solution? Today, it's my solution but I'm taking it day by day.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page